In the past couple of months, I have been reading more and more articles concerning Facebook, especially issues of privacy and identity. Apparently, 30% of employers are looking at possible hiree's facebook pages, and as the worlds largest network site, this can be very ominous. Without even knowning it, you can easily allow hundreds of people to acess your picutes, wall posts, friend's walls, etc., by simply clicking "OK" to an application or game. Skimming over the New York Times technology page, I immediately noticed a tab, entitled "5 Easy Steps to Stay Safe (and Private!) on Facebook," and without hesitation, opened it... The steps are very interesting and important; I would definitely read them, and if possible, follow them, for the safest cyberspace experience.
Step 1: Make Friend Lists
Though this can sound tedious, it is an easy way to sort through friends, and if need be, delete old contacts. If you haven't talked to a person, via cyberspace or in person, do you really need to be able to see their profile? Or let them see yours?
Step 2: Who Can See Your Profile?
By clicking "Settings," then "Privacy Settings" you can easily decide who can, and cannot, see your information, pictures, wall, etc. For most settings, it is probably a good idea to click "Only Friends," because you may not want random strangers looking at all of your pictures...
Step 3: Who Can See Your Adress and Phone Number?
One way to avoid random friends seeing your adress, phone numbers, emails, etc. is to not put up the information in the first place, but if needed, by going to the "Privacy Settings" page, and clicking, "Contact Info" you can change exaclty who can see it, and who cannot.
Step 4: Who Can Find You via Search?
If need be, and you don't want to be found by certain people, you can go to "Privacy Settings" and clicking "Search." Here you can set it so that everyone can search for you, friends, networks, friends of friends, etc. This can be a really useful step.
Step 5: Stop Sharing Information with Unknown Applications
This is a really important step; every time you sign up for an application or quiz, you are allowing the creater to acess all of your photos, information, friends, etc. At times, the creater is known, but at others, you could have no idea. To delete certain application off your page, you can go to "Privacy Settings," and then "Applications."
I would strongly recommend following these steps to stay safe and careful on the web.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment